Is Whey Protein Isolate Vegan Friendly?

​Short answer: No. Whey protein isolate powder is NOT vegan friendly.

Slightly longer answer, but still pretty short: Whey is a derivative of the cheese-making process. Protein is extracted from it and packaged into a powdered form to sell as a protein isolate powder.

Technically, you can extract protein from whey that is made while creating a vegan cheese. However, I’ve yet to see a commercial whey protein powder that is from a vegan protein source.

Stick to the protein sources found in popular vegan protein powders like peas, hemp, and soy.